october-moon's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bitching session about Christianity

Warning: I just wanted to warn you that I made some statements in this entry that made offend some people, especially Christians. I may be wrong but I may be right. It's just a matter of opinion.
I think I've decided on a name. Right now, I think I am going to just go with Jade and Jade alone. Maybe later on, I will add something on, but for right now, I'm Jade.
I don't exactly look like a Jade, but for that matter, I don't look like a Rhiannon or a Heather so what does it matter? Does anyone every "look" like they should be named a certain name?
Today, I start my "healthier eating" plan. So far, I've just cut down on how much I eat, which is a good start, I suppose. All I know is I have to lose weight if I ever plan on accepting myself 100%. I can't keep looking in the mirror and thinking the way I do about myself.
In that book I've been reading about magical names, the author mentioned how most Pagans were outcasts at one time or the other and it made me think. How many people are Pagans now simply because they were rejected by the majority of the people they've known? Do they join simply because they want to be part of a community and to feel like they belong? I was an outcast but that definitely didn't have anything to do with why I am Wiccan now. It may have had some significance in my decision but nothing of notability.
But, I'd say there are more rejects who turn to Christianity than Paganism. Lots of people who have been rejected try to make themselves as normal as they possibly can, and how much more "normal" can you get in America than being Christian??? If your Christian, that excuses everything and makes everything better (I really wish you could hear the sarcasm).
From my point of view, many of the Christians I have met are weak people, psychologically. They honestly believe that just because you pray and leave all your troubles and worries to God, that everything will be just fine and you don't have to do a thing. I couldn't live like that. I couldn't live depending entirely on a deity for everything. I HAVE to do things for myself. I have to use my own strength or I feel like I'm weak.
I suppose some people may like having someone else doing everything or them but that just isn't me.
Look at Tammy Faye Baker, with her ten tons of eye make-up and the way she cries at the drop of a hat. Wow, I'd love to have someone like her on TV, representing my religion!
I'm sure not all Christians are weak. I don't know every single Christian on the face of the planet so I'm in no place to say how all of them are.
I'm talking mainly about the ones in the USA.
There are plenty of good Christian people. So don't think I have a problem with all of them because I don't. Just the closed-minded fundamental Christians, and not even all of them are that bad.
I'm sorry if I offended anyone or made anyone mad but I just had to get that out. It was bugging me last night and it about drive me nuts.

3:21 p.m. - Friday, Jan. 07, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

foreverfairy
obsidianfrog
enchancea
icyjewel
xsilvamoonx
brit-laydee
realsnoopy
gav1979
adam-selene
avrilkiksass
d1mndn3r0ugh
kungfukitten
barelyspoken
forty-plus
endthelies
fairylove2
morbidvisage
onelilwitch
purify-me
chsturtle
anniedontcry
softsapphire
lux--aeterna