october-moon's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tolerance and Acceptance

Want to hear something pretty amazing? Chris actually helped me to realize some things last night! He showed me that I need to accept people for who they are, not try to change them to be more like me. I need to tolerate those who think differently than I am. It doesn't make them bad and it doesn't make me bad. It just makes us different.
Yes, it's pathetic that it took me almost 20 years to understand these concepts, but I was raised by a mother who had little, if no, tolerance for people different than she was (Well, except for the Jewish people. She seems to have a weird fascination with Jews. I guess it's kinda like my fascination with the Oriental people:P). But, that's just the way it is. That's how I was dealt the cards and it's up to no one but me to redeem myself, now.
The faster you learn to accept things, the easier life gets and the happier you become. I honestly believe that because I am feeling so much better about the world and about myself. I believe it will be easier for me to meet and make friends now. I won't feel like everyone is a threat.
Most importantly, I'll be able to be a better best friend. I can accept that Laura is different than me in many ways, but we are also very much the same. She doesn't just spill out her emotions like I do, and that's completely understandable. She is who she is and I love her just the way she is.
No one is perfect and no one is just like me. I'll never find a friend who is EXACTLY like me and I don't know if I want to lol

9:28 a.m. - Sunday, Feb. 20, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

foreverfairy
obsidianfrog
enchancea
icyjewel
xsilvamoonx
brit-laydee
realsnoopy
gav1979
adam-selene
avrilkiksass
d1mndn3r0ugh
kungfukitten
barelyspoken
forty-plus
endthelies
fairylove2
morbidvisage
onelilwitch
purify-me
chsturtle
anniedontcry
softsapphire
lux--aeterna